Citect user login tracking

Maia

Hey pips!I am new to Citect and I don't know how to track users who logged in. In WinCC, I've done it by including user login in the alarm logging. Is it also possible in Citect or there's a better way?

thanks,
maia :rolleyes:

you can create user accounts in Citect with different privelege levels. This is quite similar to any other SCADA package or windows user accounts. Citect is no different.

Good question.

Thats not a standard functionality of Citect.

The thing that citect does is each command that is given in an installation is logged with who when and where if you define the log message. it is even possible to log the changed variables The idea is then that it is not neccesary to log wich user is logged in when. (thats my guess)

You can make a workaround if you really want log the login and logout action.

in the extended userform you can specify an entry command and an exit command with these events you can log the moment of login and logout.

Greetz,

Marsupilami

There are a whole range of security functions in Citect that can be used to display name of operator, priv1ledges, etc etc. What is available varies with the version number you have. Like all software, it is evolving all the time.

There is no reason why a cicode function could not be written to log each login to a file, with time/date information etc. It may already have been done. I have not used V5.5 or V6 but therte may already be a function in either of those to do what you require.

I strongly suggest you join My Citect and the Citect User's List. Questions can be directed to the user's list and there are many very smart people out there from all over the world that would ba able to help you with any queries. I would also strongly suggest you obtain the latest knowledgebase and search it for what you want. It is really very good.

You will need to have a current up to date and in support licence to join.