How to connect to a slc500 1747-l40c plc

gking

G
I am new to this. I have a slc500 1747-l40c plc, and do not know how to connect to the dh-485 port on it. Can i use a straight cat5 cable and my network card on my pc?

This DH-485 PIC box will it work with just my Linksys network card or will I have to have another card installed on my PC? I have read other posts where people claim to have used a cat5 straight through cable to connect to the 1747-L40C fixed controller, but I never heard what type of hardware they had on their PC.

No - the PIC connects directly to your TRUE serial port. Search the forum for some of the issues with the PIC box (it is old technology and doesn't always play nice with newer computers).

The other option (I have not tried it, but others here recommend it highly) is the 1747-UIC which connects to DH-485 from your USB port.

Marc

OOPS!!

This 1747-L40C controller I keep speaking about was purchased off Ebay. When I got it and powered it up the fault light was flashing. I have heard that it could be everthing from no program to a bad processor. So I am a little too anxious to get it connected. yesterday I plugged my cat5 cable into it and my computer, and saw nothing happen. Then i noticed a hot electrical smell, no smoke, just a smell. After investigating I found the location to be from behind my PC. Network card still works, Hope I did'nt screw something else up.

<ugh>

Don't ever connect an ethernet port to a DH-485 port. If your ethernet card still works, you got *VERY* lucky. Usually it blows the network card out.