protool & PLC Sim (siemens)

I have been using PLCSIM v5.2 with hotfix 1 in conjunction with S7 V5.2 SP1.. it works very nicely. I have not yet been able to make my Protool see the simulated PLC (protool is V6.0 SP2), I know it can be done and obviously I am doing something wrong in the configuration or setup. The projects I have are all up and running as commissioned jobs so there is nothing wrong with them, they are integrated.
Probably I have to change some addressing or configuration to run on simulation.
I know what I am doing for the most part (except after many beers)and I am not a "newbie" to Siemens.. I haven't actually spent very much time in investigating how to do this and being a commissioning engineer I am used to asking someone else to help me out as I find it quicker and more informative than trying to locate all the right manuals.
If any of you chaps can give me some pointers or basic rules.. I would be very grateful.

regards
Richard Christian

I have:
Step 7 5.2 SP1
Protool CS V6.0
Protool RT V6.0 SP2
S7 PLCSIM V5.2 HF 1
All authorised.

If your Protool project is in the Step7 Simantic Manager, you are close. In STep7, check the PLC CPU configuration. My guess is, you left the default as "Not Networked" in the MPI network selection. There should be a MPI network, make a new one if needed. Connect to that network, SAVE and COMPILE. Open the Protool Ap and under "Controllers" connect to the Network. You will notice the PLC area will now gray out. When creating tags, put the "with symbols" check box ON and you should be able to browse the PLC tags. You may try under "EDIT" click on "Restore Symbols". The will "auto majiccally" connect to tags, if they are the same name. When inserting tags in Staep 7 and causing your tags to shift from their original address, the "Restore Symbols" will re-attach them, by tag name. NICE feature.

protool & sim

Hi

Thanks RRobbins, I have a got a bit further..but not quite all the way.