New PLC programmer requesting help :)

lugosi

Hello all!
I am completely new to PLC programming, and I am SURE that I will have even more questions for this forum before I am done. I have not even had a chance to get my hands on the hardware that I will be working with, but my question/dilemma is this: A friend wants me to do some PLC programming for him at his shop, and the person who he used to have doing it for him just up and left with all of the programs/documentation etc, so he has nothing except for the hardware with the PLC instructions in it. My first question is, how does one usually retrieve the PLC program from the hardware? Is there a certain software program that I need to do it? What sort of cabling is usually necessary? Once I retrieve it as a text file, I can then begin looking at it and try to make sense of it. I also understand that I will be using 'registers' which correspond to an action that the machine would take (ie move conveyor belt, move arm, etc)....how will I know which registers correspond to what without any documentation from the previous programmer? Thanks for your help on this, and thanks in advannce for your future help!

Lugosi,

Although I commend you on your ambition, I strongly suggest that you visit www.thelearningpit.com and read and study all the material there, and buy Phil's book and read and study that. THEN, if you still think this is what you want to do, come back here and ask away. I don't mean to put you down in any way, but I really think you need to spend a little time and become just a bit more informed.

Good Luck !!!

Jim

You sound like you might be a PC programmer who's just seen his first PLC. If that's the case, you've got experience that will help because you can "think" like a machine. But, PLCs are very different from PCs. You're probably going to experience some culture shock.

Some tips related to your post: