Need Some AB help

Gunner

Hi all,
I am looking for some answers to a project I am currently undertaking.
I am a maintenance Tech. and have learnt by doing with AB so am not aware of a lot of the detail when it comes to dealing with the more complex areas.

I have replaced an Omron C60K PLC with 32 point Flex I/O running on deviceNet from an SLC 504 which is installed on the parent Machine.

I have successfully done this on other machine, however the parent program was much smaller and has a scan time around 15msecs.

On this machine the Program is much larger and the scan time is around 48msecs.

The problem I am facing is. It appears that the I/O is not updating fast enough therfore certain processes are "over running" ie. an indexing conveyor and various other components.
I was able to rectify a few of these by increasing cam angles however I am stuck with the conveyor over running.

my questions are:

1.Is 48 msec scan time excessive and could it be causing this and thereby give me problems with the parent equipment?

2. How much time does deviceNet add to I/O updating? could this be cauing my problem.

3. When running DeviceNet how much care should be taken on the routing of the cable and also the selection of the cable used.

Hope you Guys/Gals can shed some light on this.

regards

Gunner

Well, if the only difference between installations is the size of the program it makes sense to start there. Can you post the program here to allow someone to peruse it?

Scan times can increase not only due to the program length, the more hardware you have can also be the cause. Due you have any stepper drives [1747-HSTP1] on the rack. Once I had 25 of them in a total of 3 racks and the scan times was around 40 mSec.

Or, due you have some for-next loops inside the program, which is causing the increase.... Check for your JMP and Lbl and ensure the scan is not trapped in there unnecessarily.

Good luck.

I am unable to post the programs as I am at home at the moment.