PanelView Instruction & Programming

Can you tell us more specifically which Panelview you are working with?
-Panelview standard?
-Panelview enhanced?
-Panelview Plus?

If you are working with Panelview Plus, Rockwell sells training CDs for RSView Machine Edition, which is used to create applications on the Panelview Plus. The other panels use different software.

Also, are you looking only for the panel training (screen design, establishing communications with a controller, etc.), or are you also looking for PLC training as well?

I have Panelbuilder 32 software & a Panelview 1400 to practice with. If this is not enough info for you let me know and I can get you more software or hardware info. I would like to study this application and learn as much as possible about all aspects as I can. I am studying PLC through a Koldwater program, which is working out well for the time being. The type of Panelview training that I am looking for is as you noted (screen design, establishing communications with a controller, etc.).

I don't know about other companies, I've been exposed to the automation world for 3 years now, but I've never been to any courses, nor did my boss that's been doing this for 20 years,the best way to learn I find is just to dive right in and learn from those before you. I recently went to an automation workshop and discovered that I know a lot of the AB stuff than I give myself credit for.

Well I am basically learning on the fly, but I've recently taken over a maintenance manager position, and I am the only one in the company that works with, or knows anything about the electromechanics associated with the Plant's operation. I've got a hectic personal life (married with three children, & taking classes for refrigeration), so any formal study materials would be of great benefit.