Devicenet help

super_T_duck

I am new to devicenet, but not entirely new to PLCs. I had a class back in college...

My project is simple (or so I thought) and I am having a heck of a time getting information on how to get things working. The background: I have a customer who is using devicenet on their line with barcode scanners. I am looking to help them replace their older scanners for 2D models. Our 2D scanners do not interface with devicenet - RS-232 is my best option. I have an AB Micrologix 1500 and the devicenet scanner module. I also have a couple of different devicenet to RS-232 converters to try.

What I need to do, is demonstrate that the PLC can send a trigger to the scanner using devicenet, the scanner reads the label information and sends the label information (text string) back to the PLC. I cannot find any good information on how to configure/program the devicenet scanner to send the trigger. Any one else have experience with this?

I have done bidirectional ASCII transfers with DeviceNet/RS232 interfaces from DIP Inc, Western Reserve Controls, and Allen-Bradley (1734-232ASC) using the SLC and the MicroLogix.

How this is done depends entirely on the DNet/RS232 converter. Exactly what models and versions do you have available ?

Next.... exactly what ASCII strings need to come and go from the barcode scanner ?

This could become a good "1782-JDC User's Group" thread.

I happen to have one of those and a MicroLogix 1500 LRP and 1769-SDN on my desk this week.

Also, I don't think the CAN232 is going to do what we want.

I have been prodding A-B to see if they can license something like the CANUSB to supplant the 1770-KFD for years, but nothing has come of it. The next generation of DeviceNet scanners from A-B will probably have USB network access ports on the front anyway.

"Next.... exactly what ASCII strings need to come and go from the barcode scanner ?

This could become a good "1782-JDC User's Group" thread.