plc interlocking

josesaucedo

Does any body know why plc interlocking is not reliable? Why is needed to use external interlocking like contacts interlocking when using plc interlocking? Thanks.
Jose.

You can't trust a computer for safety. If the program stops, then the safety circuits won't work.
Transistors and IC's can fail.
Safety is trusted only to good old relays. They can be wired in a safe condition, and it's easy for someone to understand and test the circuit.

Thank you Keithkyll, I just started learning and studing about plc's. right now I'm working on a project at school about interlocking and thats one of the questions I have. Thank you again and have a good one.
Jose.

When it comes to safety, you need to be as reliable as possible. Basic physics of a hardwired circiut are extremely repeatable, as compared with the alternatives.

Let me answer your question with some questions:

What happens if you are using a sold state output on your PLC and the output fails? Solid state outputs often fail in the ON state.

What happens if your PLC uses a relay output and the relay contacts weld closed in an overcurrent condition?

How can a PLC know if its own output has failed?

If you tie the output back to an input, how can your PLC be sure it is the output that has failed and not the input?

There are specially constructed PLCs for safety applications that do have the necessary hardware to detect and deal with IO failures with redundant backups on the output. Some even have two different processors, each a different brand and with a different OS to make sure that the possibility of an indigenous processor design of OS fault is minimized. But the average PLC does not have the capability.

josesaucedo said:
Does any body know why plc interlocking is not reliable? Why is needed to use external interlocking like contacts interlocking when using plc interlocking? Thanks.
Jose.

-PLC interlocking is used all over the world and is very reliable.