Recipes ML1500 LRP Series C

Hi,

I have never used recipes before so I am just wrapping my head around it.

The operator needs the ability to configure his/her machine and store the press settings. This will decrease his make ready time considerably. So I was planning on having a button on my touch screen (Panvel+ 1500) that would initate a "job save"(capturing all the current settings) then allow the operator to name the job.

Here's the situtation.

I need the ability to store up to 100 recipes.

Each recipe has a total of 72 words.

Currently I have used 7398 words (3286 data table).
I have 6490 words left. Not enough space considering I need 7200 words. Hmmmm.

There is the 1764 MM2 memory module(16k). In the instruction set manual it says I can load the recipes into the memory module.....Rockwell support says I can't....Hmmmm.

Has anyone done this kind of recipe managment with a MicroLogix. Does anyone have experience with there memory modules.

I am not all the certain about the Data Log Queue and what functionality I would lose if I used this other then not being able to to data logging.

Any help would be great!

Thomas

Thomas Franklin said:
Currently I have used 7398 words (3286 data table).
I have 6490 words left. Not enough space considering I need 7200 words. Hmmmm.
Thomas

First you can use the data log memory, which is defined as 80kbytes (note bytes, not words).

If you are using integers (N files) then I would assume that you would use (80 words/recipe) * 100 recipes * 2 bytes/word = 16kbytes.

I am working on an example that I'll post in a while.

Darren

The first snag I ran into that is not mentioned is that you can only have 32 words max in a recipe. So you would need 3 recipe files to manage your data.