Siemens S5 Program storage questions

markzb

Hello and thanks so much for looking.

I am a PLC newbie here, so please forgive me if I am asking any silly questions!

My question is ultimately, how do I find and backup the program.

Here is my situation:

I am now looking after a Siemens S5 system which is managing a cable extruding machine made by Nokia. I am very concerned that there are no backups and am trying to understand the storage architecture of this S5 system .

The heart of it seems to be :

1pc 6ES5928-3UB12 with a 64KB EPROM card and beside it
1pc 6AV1242-OAB10 with a 256KB EPROM card.

The 6AV1242 above has connected to it a Siemens CP527 industrial membrane style Keyboard. Above this keyboard is or was a Mitsubishi large monitor that got its signals via R G B cables also from this same card. Using this keyboard, this is one way of configuring the system.

In addition to this,

Also connected to one of these two CPU cards via a cable is an additional "486" style desktop PC which is running a sort of scada type program called NOMOS PSU. Unlike the other display mentioned above which looks very "DOS" like, this desktop CPU basically has a really nice graphical interface which shows all the extruder temperatures, allows you to configure and set various recipes, temperatures etc and shows graphs and alarms etc etc.

Now....here is my worry which no one else seems to share at the factory. If that external "486" style desktop computer which has been running non stop for ten years was to die, then I think they are in big trouble!

So, I am trying to understand just where and how programs are stored in this S5 system. And how do I backup these programs?

I have a feeling that there are two programs that are running here? But I am not sure!

My newbie logic thinks that the 928 CPU is running a program in Step5. And that is one thing I have to make a backup off.