slc500 fun

• Is there a better way?

Votes: 2 100.0%
  • Can it expand with ease?

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

DFJ

I am in the planning stages of programing for a fountain I want to build. I purchased an AB SLC500 for the project. I have purchased 40 solenoid valves (NO) and I have some normally closed valves for flow control. The start looks good so far, but it is now time to get down to the real programing. There are several teqniques that can be used but I am looking for the ideal way.
SO far I have used intergers and programmed timers to get the effects I want. I am new to programing and would love to have some advice as to the best way to build flexabilty into the program. I have heard a little about SQC but not sure how to use this programing function.

The functionality would be as follows;

The 40 outside nozzles would cycle along the outside jumping every other one. The nozzles would be aimed at an angle to give the effect of "Jumping Nozzles". Latter I would add inside nozzles and lights to add to the effect. My goal is to provide about 1 hour of entertainment without repeating any sequence.

Can anyone provide me with guidance as to the "Best" way to acquire these goals?

Thanks,
Dave

My email address is [email protected] if anyone wants to see the program so far or has some advice.

As far as programming goes you want to create an image stack that would drive the outputs. Like a big drum counter driven by a timer.

There's another thread I'm current involved with, where a student is programming an image recorder. It seems that would be approperate for your application. Here's a link to my most recent post explaining the programming steps for recording and playing back a 16 bit image:

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?p=152720#post152720