Time based program

DBTech

I was asked by my boss if I could come up with a time based program. Its probably simple, but not being a programmer, i dont know where to start. I'll be using an Automation Direct PLC (not sure which one yet) to turn some compressors off and on at certain times of the day. I'll have to have an HMI as well and dont know how to really interface that either. I can handle the discreet I/O, its just the time and HMI thing. Any help or links would be greatly appreciated.

I don't know the AD range, but most modern processors have an internal clock.

There are many ways to do what you require, but I would imagine a compare statement is the way to go, the biggest issue would be getting the formats right between the HMI and PLC, so that they reflect the times correctly.

Shouldn't be that difficult, if you decide on the HMI, let the forum know, there is plenty of AD experience on here.

I am not sure whether it is even available down here?

Personally if I were in need of a clock, I wouldnt bother with the DL-05 & memory module combo, but go with the DL-06 for a few dollars more. Unless panel space is a serious consideration...

The HMI can plug into the 2ndary com port on the DL-06.

I can not offer an Automation Direct example but a year or so ago I did a project using a Micrologix 1200 and Panelview 300 Micro, that scheduled a chiller, that is similar. The instruction set from AB and AD is different so you will have to do a conversion but my example(s) may offer enough to get you started. I did most of this in one day and never got to finish the project but it was working as needed.

Look primarily at rung 5 and 13 for the scheduling process, it also offers the ability to manually start the chiller if needed.

DBtech,

Are these air compressors? If so, they are not usually actually turned off for a 3-shift operation, but instead are alternated at a set time each day, so that the the Lead Compressor becomes the Lag Compressor, and vice versa.