S7 OPC VB & DCOM

Ray4242

Hi everyone,

This is my first time in this forum so please be gentle.

Sorry if this is rather long.

My company’s plant has about 12 PLCs: S7 400 & S7300.

The plant is split into several areas with PLCs in each area communicating to remote I/O via ProfibusDP. Communication between the PLCs in each area is also by Profibus .

Each of the areas is controlled by HMIs (In Touch or WinCC) via Ethernet. The Ethernet network extends between each of the plant areas but no inter-PLC communication takes place. Level 2 software in each area is also connected to the Ethernet network but I have no details of the implementation. (I’m told that the software accesses the PLC’s directly and data blocks in the PLCs seem to confirm that this is true) The Level 2 applications are again local to each plant area. (The reason the areas are connected by Ethernet is that Level 2 in each area accesses product analysis data from a remote PC in the plant lab. At the lab the networks connect via a common hub)

Using a PG and Step7 V5.2 sp1 I can communicate with any PLC around the plant from an Ethernet hub in any of the plant areas.

I’m trying to implement an application in VB6 that will read various data from each of the plant PLCs and produce plant wide shift reports. (Individual area Reports are available at each HMI station but I want an automated plant summary.)

I’ve tried the SimaticOPC automation example that came with Simatic net but only with the simulated connection and I’ve just downloaded Kepware’s OPC server which seems easier to configure.

So at last to the questions:

I assume that the existing HMI systems already communicate via OPC.

If that’s the case will adding a PC running the OPC server ‘conflict’ with the existing HMI connections?. (I have no knowledge of the HMI or how to access the software)

(I’ve read a little about collision detection etc but I’m unsure of the impact my application would have on normal HMI operation)