Step7- CPU314IFM – OP27

Alex Pel

Hello All!

I need your help with Step7- CPU314IFM – OP27 communication.

The system is working. OP27 connected by Profibus cable to MPI socket of CPU.

I plugged my PC (Step7 V5.3) on top of existing connection. In NetPro I can see the CPU with address 2 and I have uploaded the station. The problem is, I couldn’t see my HMI. Only idea I have, it to create a new project, configure MPI net and download it to PLC but I don’t know how existing program will survive.

Sorry for simple question, I’ve never done this before. Thanks.

Ok. I think, I don’t have to reconfigure the PLC station. Rather I have to somehow configure my OP27 from ProTool. Give it address #1 and rest parameters assign same as CPU. What do you think?

Thanks.

hi Alex Pel.

For a simple application, i.e. one PLC + one OP via MPI, you dont need to configure anything in NetPro.

As you suggest, just specify the parameters in Protool.
The alternative is to integrate the Protool project in the STEP7 project and configure the online connection via NetPro. But you wont get any advantages from doing so.

A slight advantage from integrating Protool in STEP7 is that you get the symbols from STEP7 into Protool, but again - not a big advantage for a small project.

by default, in netpro .... OP cannot be connected unless defined connection already exist in HW config ...

.... it's like Jesper saying - better integrate protool project in step7 ... and after that .... connection can be defined in protool:
- open project
- select Controllers branch
(there has to be your station! like PLC_1 or smg)
- open it
- click Parameters button

now you can edit type of connection for your OP

then switch to NetPro and connect OP to PLC as usually

Thanks JesperMP and marius.