whaddafuh?

Two weeks ago, we had a problem with a particular servo losing position. We replaced the encoder cable. No more problem.

Two weeks later, same problem. Okay, must not have been the cable. Observe symptoms, decide drive is likely culprit. Order new drive.

New drive has a two-day wait, so, just to rule it out, change motor and encoder. Same symptoms. Wait for drive.

Install drive, start up - same symptoms.

At this point we've replaced the entire servo apparatus. Then one of the maintenance men has an inspiration - put the old encoder cable back on.

No more problem. kaaaaaaay...

This makes no sense. The new cable ran for two weeks before problem resurfaced. And after replacing everything else in the system, the problem is corrected - by using the old cable.

I'm a technician - I don't believe in superstition, and I gave up sacrificing live chickens on the worksite years ago.

But I have, on many occasions over the years, been through an ordeal like this one, and after putting in enough hours on the machine, something just gels and the damn thing starts working like nothing was ever wrong. Like it just wanted attention.

Yeesh,

TM

Intermittent connection @ drive on encoder connector, old cable was good but had come loose, replaced with new cable (tight connection, worked for 2 weeks, connector came loose, re-installed old cable tight connection, all is well. ( this is just a W.A.G.)

We had a customer constantly "losing" encoders on a shear. During one service call on another problem, one tech found the plug loose, and the +v pin burnt. New connector, new encoder, tighten the encoder plug, keep the plug tight - no more encoder problems.

Vibration sure seems to make connectors get loose.