Hazardous Location IO control

Money4Nothing

I'm trying to design a motor control panel (basically pushbuttons and lights with some IO blocks in an enclosure) for use in a Class 1 Zone 1 location. In the past we had used a pre-fabricated enclosure that was UL certified as a whole. This was very expensive and used modbus communication which I'm not to fond of. I'd rather build a panel in-house and have a component-based approval.

I'm thinking if I can design and enclosure with intrinsically safe IO and EEx'e' rated components, then I can get an approval. The trick is that without a certification on the entire enclosure, I'll have to proove that everything down to the connections on the screw terminals is EEx'e'.

Since my larger parent control system is ControlNet, I'm planning on using FlexEx. But I'm no expert in intrinsically safe IO and hazardous area controls. So I have a few questions.

Are there any industrial pushbuttons and lamps that carry EEx'e' ratings on the wire terminations and power modules?

Does the FlexEx render all its outputs intrinsically safe? If so, would an EEx'd' pushbutton or LED that is rendered intrinsically safe by virtue of connection to FlexEx be approved for use in a Zone 1 area, without the enclosure or feed-throughs being EEx'd'?

Could I put the FlexEx IO blocks in a safe area, supply them with safe power, and wire to the field devices in the hazardous area, and connect to the IO with standard copper communication media?

If anyone has any experience with instrinsically safe or hazardous are IO design, your comments would be appreciated.

Thanks
$

...for use in a Class 1 Zone 1 location