First time on Siemens S5 & Omron PLC, please advise

ckchew666

Hi,

We've a customer running a few Siemens S5 PLCs. Their intend is to upgrade to Omron PLC. Because most of the new machines are Omron based.

1) 6ES5 421-8MA12 is digital input 8 points, 24 VDC. Does anyone knows if this is a sinking or sourcing input?

2) 6ES5 441-8MA11 is digital output 8 points, 24 VDC. Does anyone knows if this is a sinking or sourcing output?

3) For a system with 120 - 130 Digital IO only (no networking or HMI connection), what is the best model to go for in Omron?

Thanks...please advise as I'm new to Siemens & Omron.

First of all, I'm not sure if you can call a change from Siemens to Omron an upgrade, because the differences between the two are way too big. I would regard this as a change and nothing more. Switching from Siemens S5 to Siemens S7 (except S7-200) is an upgrade, because these you can compare.
  1. The 6ES5 421-8MA12 is digital input 8 points, 24 VDC sinking.This is the connection diagram:

6es5421-8ma12_diagr.jpg
  2. The 6ES5 441-8MA11 is digital output 8 points, 24 VDC, sourcing. The connection diagram is this:

6es5441-8ma11_diagr.jpg
  3. For the question about what Omron to use, I would suggest maybe CQM1H, but I'm sure BobB (and others too) knows better than me what the possibilities are.
BTW, the external connection diagram is (almost) always printed on the front or behind the connections cover of a Siemens PLC.

Kind regards,

Last edited:
jvdcande: 1) Thx for ur info, don't scare me off. Because I see OMRON also has sinking input and sourcing output 24V DC. Your statement " because the differences between the two are way too big. " really shake me off!! Care to explain this, I taught for changing from Siemens S5 to OMRON all we need to do is to make sure the wiring are correct at the IO, while the program we can copy back (in OMRON format) from the Siemens S5? No?