Small, medium, large PLC's

invincible

I'm studying PLC's at college and as always, things fit into nice categories; but not in the real world. I have the book definitions of the 3 sizes, but as I don't yet work with them have no idea on the size of the systems that they are able to control. Are there any good websites that you could recommend for future reading. Looked at the live programming site that was recommended, I think I shall become very familiar with that one.
Thanks in advance for any help.

PLC size

Max I/O points

User Memory Size

PLC type

Small

40/40

unitary

Medium

128/128

modular

Large

>128/>128

>4k

rack mounted

Doesn't really mean a huge amount yet, I'm sure that will change. I think the learning curve is gonna be quite steep.

Doug.
From what i have seen so far, must agree with your comments.

Simon, sorry don't have a book ref as they were from tutors notes. This matches odd bits from different web sites i've read.

Still doesn't answer the origional question.
Oh the search goes on.

Hi invincible,

You have probably discovered that your tutors notes contain terms that are only used within the PLC's module of the HNC course, not in the real world. That has been debated on numerous occasions in the past on this forum, so there is no need to go over old ground.

I will assume that you are doing your HNC, in that case this site might be of some help to you, it has been posted numerous times in the past, the first time I saw it was when it was posted by Ron (rsdoran) about 4 years ago.

Anyway, use the site above to 'pass' the PLC module, but if you want any advice, help, assistance, explanation of anything to do with PLC's then post your questions here. Just remember, if you are going to ask homework questions, please show some effort to answer them yourself first.

Good luck

Paul

Paul, thanks for the link, it'll give me something to look at in-between doing Gantt charts.