RSLogix 5000 Add-On Instructions

recondaddy

I'm just learning about AOI's, and I have a question concerning Parameter Usage (Input, Output, or InOut).

I understand that Input and Output passes parameters in and out of the instruction BY VALUE, whereas InOut passes parameters BY REFERENCE. In the programming manual, I found a nifty table of considerations:

Value:
By Value: Synchronous - the Parameter's value does not change during Add-On Instruction execution.
By Reference: Asynchronous - the Parameter's value may change during Add-On Instruction execution. Any access by the instruction's logic directly reads or writes the passed tag's value.

Performance:
By Value: Argument values are copied in and out of the Parameters of the Add-On Instruction. This takes more time to execute a call to the instruction.
By Reference: Parameters access argument tags directly by reference, which leads to faster execution of instruction calls.

Memory usage:
By Value: Most amount.
By Reference: Least amount.

Parameter data types supported:
By Value: Atomic.
By Reference: Atomic, Arrays, and structures.

After looking at all these considerations, By Reference uses less memory, executes faster, and supports more data types than By Value. Why would I ever use Input or Output as opposed to InOut?

Thanks.

I have been playing around a litle with these too. I just can't seem to find the time to get very far with it yet.

I look forward to creating my own scaling instruction.

RSL

One definate reason to be VERY CAREFUL about passing by reference:

Pretend, for a moment, that you have an HMI with momentary Pushbuttons, tagged to an element in a UDT, and you pass that UDT by reference into an AOI. You have the possibility of the element changing state within the execution of the AOI, so it is something to watch out for.