beginner needs clear answer

I am a control installer that uses circon/echelon technology. I am trying to learn more about plcs in general because I want to build renewable energy experiments. My question is this: MUST I choose a platform (AB,Omron,Siemens...) and then be locked in to using proprietary products and or software. I guess I want to know if there is the possibility of using- for example- an AB Micrologix 1000 without having to use RsLogix software. Is there a universal software(language) that I could learn about to be able to utilize any/all PLCs??????? Thanks!

... Is there a universal software(language) that I could learn about to be able to utilize any/all PLCs??????? Thanks!

If you choose to program in 'ladder', you could use ladder in most PLC's, but you can not learn RSLogix (AB) and then use a Siemens PLC and program using that software

Is it you need to use several different brands? or you just dont want to spend the money for the software?

EDIT: The vast majority of PLC can use different platforms, you can have devicenet on several different PLC's or Modbus, so I don't think from the hardware side you are lock into only one brand, the are trying to have more open platforms, If you explain what you are needing to do someone may have a suggestion of a brand that you can look at that may fit your application good

Last edited:
I don't mind buying software but I AM kind of lost as to where a good place "to jump in" would be !? There is an abundance of "opinion" about what platform to invest in. I have already spent QUITE a bit just "wandering aimlessly" and seem to find that I apparently need to make a fairly large investment in any one to be able to actually learn by experiment.

Last edited:
Read my EDIT above, and also give a little more detail of what you are trying to do....you will get a LOT of advice from the users of this forum

some good, some bad...I will tell whats good :D