what is the difference between cnc and plc

sinha_nsit

Hello,
I am a teacher.I want to include plc programming in the course. And since I do not know much about PLC, I am trying to learn it. I want some very basic information:
What is the difference between a cnc (for controlling m/c tools) and a plc?
Is it possible to fully control a servo motor using a plc, the way it is controlled by cnc?
Thanks.
S.K.Sinha

Computer Numerical Control
Programable Logic Controller
It is possable but not practical.

What is the difference between a word processor and a CAD program?
Can you type a letter with a CAD program?

What is the difference between a bicycle and a freight train?
Can you haul iron ore with a bicycle?

Get the picture?

A (very rough) comparison between PLC and CNC is this:
  • Programming PLC is as if you were writing the Excel program
  • Programming CNC is as if you were using the Excel program to its full power.
I won't minimise the know-how needed for programming CNC, but this should give an idea.

Most PLCs are too slow to control a servo motor in the same way a CNC control does, although some recent ones come very close.

Kind regards,

What gets me is that someone that does not know PLC's is going to teach it.

That fall into those that can DO, those that can't teach?

CNC (Computer Numerical Control) is a particular application usually to control a multi axis machine tool such as a milling machine or a lathe but also could be a tube bending machine punch press or similar. The CNC controller is usually a purpose built controller using a micro computer but could be a general purpose computer or a PLC. The forerunner was NC (Numerical Control) before computers were readily available, it used solid state logic and relays, timers etc to provide the application.