Prosoft MV169-MNET Modbus Ethernet TCP/IP

Guys I have a project where I'll be required to exchange data with an upstream PLC( Schnider) over Modbus/TCP/IP.

On my side I'm using a CompactLogix L32E. I know I have onboard Ethernet available but this unfortunatly is not an option.

I have never used Modbus before and dont know a hell of a lot about the protocol.

Has anyone used this Modbus TCP/IP interface modules before?
Can I set up 2 compactLogix PLCs both with a Modbus TCP/IP interface modules and exchange data for test purposes?

Regards,

Morphuis

Glad tpo hear Prosoft is my friend because I've spent the past 3 days and im not getting anywhere with this!!!!

Admittantly I have no experience with Modbus so that might be a problem. Have you any sample applications where you exchange data between 2 Compactlogix CPUs (L35E) using Modbus TCP/IP with the MVI69-MNET module at each end.

I dont even know for sure if my module configuration on each end is correct? Should it be Client/Server?

I strongly recommend starting with a PC-based utility that performs as a Modbus/TCP Master and let the CompactLogix be the Modbus/TCP slave device.

I've had very good success with WinTech Software's Modscan32.

http://www.win-tech.com/html/modbus1.htm

There is a trial mode, but I bought the license because I use it several times a year for Modbus integration projects.

There are example programs that come with the MVI69-MNET, and in fact they come with RSLogix 5000 too. Start with those.

Also download WireShark, which is an open-source Ethernet protocol analyzer. You'll be able to see the data from the ModSim software and the responses from the MVI69-MNET. Very educational.

I'm assuming your CLX is holding data for the Modicon to read.

If so your Prosoft needs to be a slave.
what part are you stuck on?

Setting up Prosoft cards is pretty much split into 3 chunks:
1) Installing the hardware/hardware confuration