FactoryTalk Questions

bone

Maybe the experts can give me some insight.......

My situation is this:

I have successfully programmed RSView Studio 4.00.00 (CPR7) alongside RSLogix 5000 (Using 15.02 now.........) for quite some time, and have become pretty proficient in doing so. I understand the programming techniques fairly well, and have had minimal problems in the projects to date (AKA None that couldn't be solved in a timely manner). We have a large project coming up that has a 5 week deadline from start to finished product, and the powers-that-be have asked for a new, 'cutting edge' version of front-end control. We will be using SoftLogix 5800 (Which I have also had great success with in the past, albeit limited usage), and wish to utilize multiple monitors for the HMI. The goal is to have the primary monitor used as a 'cue sheet' (I work in the entertainment industry) for motion moves, and the secondary monitor to be used as the 'sub-menu screen' (System parameters, real-time (jog) movement, troubleshooting, etc.)

With very little time to implement this concept, I think that FactoryTalk Site Edition Station is what I'm looking for.

Now for the questions:

1. Is this the right software package? I plan on using this on 1 machine only, with 2 video cards. I'm hoping that I can designate which screen appears on a selected monitor. Am I on the right track?

2. What is the learning curve for the FactoryTalk platform? Will I be totally lost, or will I be able to pick things up from my prior experience with RSView Studio? I'm not the kind of guy whose VCR (Remember those??) flashes '12:00', so I sort of understand that I need to read/research the technology, and will not ask for help until I've tried to understand all of the concepts (so I can converse intelligebly with the tech support person).