New to PLC's

cmgxsolutions

Hi,

I am new to controls and I am looking to set up a control system for HVAC systems. The goal is to be able to monitor pressures, tempatures and to be able to control relays and contactors from a PC.

Can this be done on an ethernet network if not what is the best option?

What software is good for operating the network?

Thanks
Dan

Wow!!

Hi Dan and welcome...

You first say you are new to PLC's but you want to do what? :)

I have a HVAC system by Johnson Controls, I would not wish this on my worst enemy, it is controlling aprox 20 box car HVAC's and a hot water system, it is a very complex piece of ****.

What parts are you going to control? fan speed? compressors? or just temps and by pressure are you talking room pressure or condenser pressure. Do you have clean rooms?

What is your background? you may have better luck with a PC controlled if you know other programming.

Ethernet is a good option, I would look at Automation Direct for the PLCs and other hardware, they have good pricing and there stuff is good (not great but good)

I have wanted to do a HVAC system but I don't have the time, I hope you do.

So can you go into more detail? and we can help more...

a/c control

I did one several years ago using opto22 and pargon software.
mostrecently slc500 ab with panelview, slc works using thermalcouple and analog cards. can get pricey if not careful.

The ideal would be to see discharge and suction pressure, suction temp as well as amperage readings for condensor fans and evap fans. And a remotely operated pumpdown switch.

I have a strong background in computer networking which is why I feel like this should be easy.

Do they have plug and play controllers and sensors for tcp/ip networks...