cognex camera l

zekruss

hi , i'm a student working on a vision project using an insight camera which have to be integrated in a machine controlled by a visual basic program , i downloaded the trial version of insight explorer and i finished the job editing , but i have a basic question to ask , i have no camera available for the moment so i couldn't do some tests , but i want to know if the job is processed by the camera processor "embedded job working " or does the camera only aquire the image and then transfer it into the spreadsheet of insight emulator , i am unable to distinguish the difference between an emulator and the camera , what i want is to run my job which aquire the image after a software aquistion trigger started when a read device occurs , and then returns the result in this device using the network
could you explain to me please how i can run the job by the camera , can the job be loaded automaticly to the camera or should i start insight explorer then connect to the camera then it can work properly
when simulating i send info to the spreadsheet using tcp device from visual basic the adress is 127.0.0.1 , of the local machine , should i change the adress to the camera IP adress when the camera will be connected ?

thank you for your attention

I did some work with a DVT camera once. I had the distributor bring in a camera we took some pictures of the product. Then we did all the setup in the software using the pic's we had. By going one to the next we were able to see how the software would react. So I think if you have the images saved that you want to use then you should be able to do most everything without the camera.

zekruss said:
i want to know if the job is processed by the camera processor "embedded job working " or does the camera only aquire the image and then transfer it into the spreadsheet of insight emulator