OT shielding

ivo.maenen

Somewhere I have read that you don't need to shield the powercable between a softstarter and the motor. But I'm thinking that even the limited time for ramp-up or ramp-down is creating problems for other electronic components e.g. communication, so you would need to shield it.

I have no experience with softstarters and every topic in this forum is about shielding invertors. So how do the people who do this every day think about this? What do you do?

Last edited:
You'll want to run your data (copper) cables away from there even if it's shielded, which I think is always a good idea, safety permitting. If it's not, make sure you don't have any potential crosstalk issues. I've dealt a lot with cabling, but not softstarts. Does anyone know how powerful a field they induce?

ivo.maenen said:
Somewhere I have read that you don't need to shield the powercable between a softstarter and the motor. But I'm thinking that even the limited time for ramp-up or ramp-down is creating problems for other electronic components e.g. communication, so you would need to shield it.

I have no experience with softstarters and every topic in this forum is about shielding invertors. So how do the people who do this every day think about this? What do you do?

A couple of months ago I added a softstart in an existing control panel to start a CIP pump and did not run sheilded cable to the motor, but the precuations that I did take were to run the motor leads to the motor in a separate 3/4" rigid conduit and where the leads did have to cross some I/O wiring in the panel I made sure that it crossed perpendicular to the I/O wire bundle to limit any effects of noise. To date, we have not had any problems with noise.

regards

I've never encountered a situation where an SCR-chopper softstarter produced enough EMI-RFI interference to affect any adjacent controls.