RS5000 & FSC Instruction

Good day all,

Got a quick question hopefully someone can answer. OK, I am relatively new to the ControlLogix Platform. Mainly been dealing with SLC500's & PLC5's. I have been assigned to a project, where I am reviewing plc code for the equipment coming in for the project. A section of the code uses multiple FSC instructions. No problem. I understand the file search/compare instruction and what they are intending to do with it. What I am having trouble with is that the Control Word being used for each instance of the instruction is the same (e.g stack_search). Now, if I remember correctly, in the older Rockwell platforms, this is not recommended. (e.g Should not use R6:0 twice.) Is this true for the ControlLogix Platform? Or is this perfectly acceptable??

Thank-You,

Andrew Evenson

If the FSC is set up to do the whole search in a single scan (ALL mode), and the control word is referenced before the next FSC occurs, then it may be acceptable to do it this way.

Paul

Greetings Andrew ...

does the program make any use of the .FD (Found) bit? ... or of the .POS (Position) member? ... if the answer is "yes" then you could have a problem - especially if the FSC could conceivably find more than one TRUE match ...

I think this is what my distinguished colleague OkiePC was getting at too ...

basic idea: suppose that the first FSC finds a match, and that this particular match needs to be counted and its location/position recorded ... and then that same FSC needs to pick back up where it was and continue the search ... in that case, the next FSC could possibly "reset" the SINGLE control structure before the first search could be resumed ...

disclaimer: this is all based on how I interpret what you've described ... if possible, you might consider posting the part of the program that's involved in this operation ...

Last edited:
Possibility ...