A-B SLC500 DIV command. Saving the remainder as a fp word for vending machine project

limeyfellow

Hi,

I'm pretty new to PLCs (about 2 weeks experience) and still learning all the commands but I had a problem and after spending a long time with the manual am no further along the way of figuring this out.

I am using an Allen-Bradley SLC 500 and been designing a program for a vending machine, and yes I didn't come up with this idea.

Anyway, I am at the stage of getting the machine to release the change, after coming up with a total in an f8 word. So I thought to myself, okay I'll just divide that amount by the first coin value.

When I do this I get a quotient saved in another f8 word, but I don't know how to save the carried remainder value to a third word so I can then divide that amount with the lesser value coin. I'm I just doing this all wrong or is there an easier way of doing this I haven't considered? For the live of me I just can't figure out how to save that remainder to use elsewhere.

Thank you for any help.

Last edited:
Sounds like homework.

Floating point division isn't going to give you a remainder, remainders only exist in integer division. There are ways to truncate floats, but that is very advanced programming, so lets stick with integers and basic instructions. Since we want to work with integers, convert your price to pennies, not dollars.

Hint: When you perform double integer division using the DDV instruction, S:13 and S:14 will contain the quotient and remainder. To get an integer value into the math register you can use a couple of move MOV instructions, but its easier to just multiply by 1 and ignore the destination. The MUL instruction places a 32 bit value in the S:13 and S:14 math registers.

MUL N7:0 1 N7:1 //ignore the value in N7:1
DDV 25 N7:1 //divides the value that was in N7:0 which is now in the math register by 25. Once again, we don't really care about N7:1.
MOV S:13 N7:2 //remainder
MOV S:14 N7:3 //quotient