what is server

panthripu

can you people just explain what exactly the server is the function of server in level -1 automation and server for HMI.I am confused.

Start by defining your terms. I don't know what you mean by "level -1 automation"...

Then -- what does a server do? How might it be used in each of those functions?

server

well, i am quite new in automation.we have some siemens PLC connected throught ethernet to eachother and there is a server.Also for all HMI there is a server.What exactly is it?

A server typically serves clients. What it serves depends on its function: is it a data server, an alarms server, an event server....?

Without more info there's absolutely nothing we can tell you exactly, we can only give hints and guesses.

Kind regards,

Hello Panthripu;

The term "server" is always associated with the term "client", as in server-client architecture.
Think of it as when you go to a restaurant; you are the client. The maitre d' shows you a menu that contains everything you could choose from in his establishment (this is the function of the server, he is here to serve you the data/screens/trends/historical archive that you need).As a client you select only what you need at that time; you can come back and order more later...
If your SCADA application is created in a server, all the graphic screens, the communications with the plant PLCs, the trends and data are stored on that machine, generally a powerful PC with Server software as operating system and server licenses from your SCADA provider.