Monitoring starter motor amps

Kmrunner

Bear with me, I'm new to the PLC world. I want to use an existing SLC-505 with Ethernet connection to monitor the amps from 8 300hp screw compressors with AB starter motors. I'm trying to find the simplest way to monitor the 3-phase amps and get that info into the PLC so I can monitor and change the PLC program that turns our compressors off and on based on system air pressure. If I can monitor the amps, I have an Excel spreadsheet ready so show the realtime capacity readings of the compressors that can be viewed from any PC with access.

PLC's and motor starters are AB. I have a DeviceNet module available and various analog and digital input and output cards. I can buy other items if I can just figure out what to get.

Can anyone offer some suggestions? I haven't had much luck from the local vendors figuring this out.

Bear with me, I'm new to the PLC world. I want to use an existing SLC-505 with Ethernet connection to monitor the amps from 8 300hp screw compressors with AB starter motors. I'm trying to find the simplest way to monitor the 3-phase amps and get that info into the PLC so I can monitor and change the PLC program that turns our compressors off and on based on system air pressure. If I can monitor the amps, I have an Excel spreadsheet ready so show the realtime capacity readings of the compressors that can be viewed from any PC with access.

PLC's and motor starters are AB. I have a DeviceNet module available and various analog and digital input and output cards. I can buy other items if I can just figure out what to get.

Can anyone offer some suggestions? I haven't had much luck from the local vendors figuring this out.
If you have VFDs instead of simple motor starters you could add a Device Net Interface option to each VFD and get a whole lot of info for each one of then via Device net.
If you do have motor starters only, current transformers on each phase of each VFD could do the trick.