Temperature Controlled PLC Suggestions

iaknown

Hello all, I'm a newbie so take it easy on me :). I am currently experimenting with a solar water heating system. I would like to set up a PLC to control the system, basically monitor temperatures of the water and turn pumps and/or solenoids on and off depending on temperatures, time of day, etc. I will need to monitor around 3 sensors and the runs to each sensor may be about 25 feet at the longest. Readings do not have to be that accurate (+/- a few degrees). I will also need a calendar built into the PLC, I believe some models offer this. I took PLC programming in college, I have to refresh my memory but programming it shouldn't be too much of a problem as I did real well in the class, but I have no experience with actually purchasing a PLC for a specific application and what the different models do.

What do you guys recommend I use as far as the PLC, sensors, etc?

Cost is definitely a factor, if this is going to cost a lot I will have to go about it a different way. I was looking at the Eaton Cutler-Hammer systems that offer the temperature module add-on but do I even need this? I see Panasonic and Honeywell offer similiar systems too. What would be the cheapest and simplest for my application? Any help is much appreciated!!

If cost is a major factor, ask yourself if you really need the plc to monitor the temperature?

If you want the plc to open one two or three valves depending on the temperature then use pt100 probes and the temperature module, but if you simply want to open a valve when the water is at 40 degrees (For example) i would be tempted to use a simple capillary type thermostat. £15 ish cost. You can feed the stats back to the plc so the plc still makes the descisions.

If you can tell us exactly how many devices, and your budget, we can point you in the right direction. Cost may be to much. Since you do not have PLC programming software, this will limit your choices also.