O.T Help With College Selection.

The Plc Kid

Where is the best college for electrical engineering? I live in Macon Georgia and I Graduated High School last saturday and was looking at taking EE online and onsite at Georgia tech because that would only be a small drive for me but much of it can be done online. Problem is that I have worked with 3 EE from tech at a different plant and none of them really impressed me and to tell you the truth at my beginner level I am not hard to impress.

I am getting a late start on deciding and registering but I want to get the most bang for my buck.

From what I see most college EE programs now are geared more toward electronics and I wish to be educated more in Plc’s, Motor controls, Advanced Process Controls, Power Quality, etc

Just want some advice from the many experienced professionals here. Because here I am always impressed.

Check out Purdue Univerisity in Indiana. They have a couse geared toward Automation Enginnering or some such thing. I do not know the detail but have heard good things about it.

Good Luck

I am not an experienced professional, but I am currently enrolled at the University of Washington in Electrical Engineering. At UW, we have several 'specializations' that you can focus on while obtaining a BS in EE. I suggest you first look at the availibility of a program that interests you.

As far as getting the most 'bang for your buck', stay in state and go to a state college, not a private one. I am not sure how it works in Georgia, but in Washington, in-state resident tuition is about $6,802 a year while out-of-state tuition is $23,219 a year.

Hope that helps

I took the low buck approach of getting a two year degree then finishing up at a state school (Rutgers) with an ME degree.

Since then I have learned more from working on my parents farm, working with experienced mechanics, and working with good programmers/electrical engineers than I ever learned at school.