CE standard questions

jimtech67

Hello

I have machine builder that needs a drive system that is going to Europe 3 phase 380 volt 50 hz. Says that we must follow CE standards. Can you guys help me with following points.

I was told that the panel back plate must be not painted and galvanized steel. Have any one heard of this? I was thinking of using a stainless back plate.

I am using AC Vector drive and was that I need a “ filter “ for the AC supply to the drive. This is all I could get out of my customer. He did not know if it meant a line reactor or some thing else. Is there a CE standard for this?

Could some one point me to site or list the CE wiring standards, mainly wire colors and info along those lines.

Jim

GO JETS

We have only done one machine that required CE certification here so I am by no means an expert. This forum has a good international presence so you should be able to get some help.
I would start with a copy of EN60204. This is the machinery safety standard SOMEWHAT similar in intent to NFPA79 in the US. The other thing that may help is a Fundamental Assessment of Stadards (FAST) document, which leads you through an assessment of your equipment to make sure you don't miss anything.
If someone else is incorporating your stuff into their equipment, you will either need to have a CE mark on your stuff or send a Declaration of Non-conformity stating why it is not marked. In your case you might be able to shunt the marking requirement to your customer and they can mark it as part of the total package. That can be a tough sell, though.