Negative output voltage from PLC

masterv

I am new to the PLC systems.
I need to use a PLC as a switch. The PLC must be Ethernet controlled.
The peripherals that are connected to the PLC need a voltage between -12Vdc to 0 Vdc. I was planning on using the Allen Bradley controllogix or PLC 5. Most PLC have positive output voltage (e.g 12Vdc, 24 Vdc etc). How can I reverse the voltage to get a negative output voltage from the PLC? Can I connect the common to a negative voltage?

That's such a strange request that I'd want to know a whole lot more about the application before I could recommend that...

Will it work? Right now, my answer would be a very definite "maybe" -- In theory, it ~should~ work, but I really want to know a whole lot more about it before I would commit to that answer.

The PLC is a switch and it will do the selection between a real-time environment and simulated environment. The types of connection that I use are NTDS type A. The type A is characterized by nominal values of 0VDC and -15Vdc to represent binary one and binary zero. The threshold voltage is at -7.5. Therefore as long as my voltage is below -8 VDC, it should be able to switch to a binary 0. In total with all devices connected, I will have 222 input/ouput connected to the PLC. The output voltage lines of my PLC have to correspond to the voltage of my NTDS device.

Still may need a little more detail...

You have an analog signal (-15 to 0) less then -7.5 your digital output will be 0 and greater then 7.6 your digital out will be 1 (on/off or true and false)

And you will have 222 of these?

Between -15 to -7.5 Vdc, the digital output is 0.
Between -4.5 to 1.5 Vdc, the digital output is 1.
My digital output is more stable when I get close to -15 VDC(binary 0) or 0 VDC (binary 1)

yes I have 222 of these.