AB Heating PID/PIDE control

Dauge

Hello everyone, I just want to start this with I have lots of knowledge in programming AB plc's from the 5's thru the 5000's, but I have zero knowledge of programming PID loops.

I am attempting to control the temperature in a vacuum chamber with 3, 1.5kw heaters. They are all controlled via SSR's right now and work but they aren't real tight. So I thought I would try a PID loop. There lies the problem and the literature I can find only confuses me more.

I am working with a 1769-L35e compact logix controller, v16. I have 1 thermocouple for the chamber temp and one output enabling the SSR's.

Any direction would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance for your time

Duane

PS I attached a cleaned up version of what I have now in the zip file, it is RS5000

I like to scan my PID logic once every second, then take the % output and move it into a timer preset. I then fire the SSR while the timer is timing.

Another useful idea is to configure your HMI (if you have one) to allow you to change the P, I, and D values on the fly.

I do have an HMI, which is yet another obsticle I'm working through. Lots of practice with Rsview, but this newer version is taking some getting used to.

Good idea though on being able to adjust via the HMI, I will work to that end.

Thanks

your title mentions PID and PIDE ... which one are you going to use? ...

survival tip: for my first attempt at this, I'd definitely make it PID (Ladder Logic) and not PIDE (Function Block Diagram) ...

I only had time to BRIEFLY SKIM the file that you attached – but it LOOKS LIKE you're going to use Local:4:I.Ch2Data (Chamber Temp) as the analog input signal ... you'll need to keep the scaling on this in mind when you set up the PV ("Process Variable") signal for the PID ...