need help

bmtool

Thanks in advance for any help. I am a novice at plc programming. I am working on an assembly machine right now that is basically all air cylinders. I have two particular problems. One is I need one of the air cylinders to strike the same piece multiple times (Probably two or three times). The other more difficult problem is I have a six station indexing wheel. I am trying to make it so if a piece is missing I do not want the other stations to try to load pieces to something that is not there. I use fpwinpro software using ladder and function blocks to program.

Disclaimer, I have no knowledge of fpwinpro software.

Thanks in advance for any help. I am a novice at plc programming. I am working on an assembly machine right now that is basically all air cylinders. I have two particular problems. One is I need one of the air cylinders to strike the same piece multiple times (Probably two or three times).

Does the air cylinder that you want to "restrike" have any sensors to indicate position of stroke?

The other more difficult problem is I have a six station indexing wheel. I am trying to make it so if a piece is missing I do not want the other stations to try to load pieces to something that is not there. I use fpwinpro software using ladder and function blocks to program.

Are there any sensors to indicate the part is missing? And that the indexing wheel has moved? Does your software have a "shift register" instruction?

Yes all cylinders have front and back magnetic sensors. Also the software does have shift registers. That's what I was trying to use. I just can't seem to figure it out.

for the indexing wheel I have seen things similar that use a add/subtract system. where if piece A is present you add one, once the wheel indexes you subtract one. piece B present add one, wheel indexes, subtract one. then if the number ever goes above 1 or below two, something is missing or out of step.