Truncate Floating Point

PCPtech

I would like to truncate an F8
Example (2.528195) to 2.5

I have searched the forums but haven't had any luck. I am fairly new to programming and would appreciate any assistance.

Thank You

Multiply by 10 and store in an intermediate integer file such as N7:0, then divide by 10 again.

Edit: I believe my solution will actually round the value, 2.58 would become 2.6. Do you want to truncate, round or don't care?

Hi,

What would happen if you divided by 1 and then got the value from the most significant word of the math register? S:14 maybe

Just a SWAG.

Mark

Multiply by 10 and store in an intermediate integer file such as N7:0, then divide by 10 again.

Edit: I believe my solution will actually round the value, 2.58 would become 2.6. Do you want to truncate, round or don't care?

To compensate for rounding, subtract .5.
MUL F8:0 10.0 F8:0
SUB F8:0 .5 N7:0
MUL N7:0 0.1 F8:0

2.528195 * 10 = 25.28195
25.28195 - .5 = 24.78195 ---> rounds to 25 when moved to integer
25 * .1 = 2.5

2.5999 * 10 = 25.999
25.999 - .5 = 25.4999 ---> rounds to 25 when moved to integer
25 * .1 = 2.5

OK, now that the technique that works on paper is out of the way, lets talk about floating point numbers in computers. Computers (PLCs included) use something called IEEE754 format to represent floating point numbers in binary. There are lots of numbers that cannot be represented exactly in IEEE 754 floating point format. One such number is any decimal 1/10^n, ie, .1, .01, .001, etc. In other words, no matter how many times you try, you are not going to truncate to 1.1 or 2.1 or 3.1, etc. to a single decimal place because the number cannot be represented in IEEE754, instead you get 0.499999940395355 and thats a close as you're going to get, no matter how hard you try. You will run into the same problem with any #.2, #.4, #.7, #.8, and an infinite number of other combinations.