New Here And Have Question!!

justinivey

Hey Guys,

I'm new here but have used these forums and others to help with plc problems I've had. First let me say that I'm no expert at PLC's. I'm just a maintenance tech with a good understanding of them. I have built and programmed alot of machines. Most of them were fixtures to verify presence and absence of parts. The latest on I did was with an cognex camera.

I work for a tier 1 supplier for Honda. We do plastic injection molding. The problem is the company will buy whatever is on sell that week. We have AB, Idec, Omron and Siemens PLC's on our fixtures. Every HMI ever made. The vision we have is Cognex and Banner. We have every make of sensor ever made.;)

I recently ran into a problem where somehow a panelview 550's screen got cracked. Of course nobody knows how it happenned. I found out that it uses DH485 protocal and I couldn't use my usb to serial that I have on my laptop. So I get the IT guy to install the software on the desktop with a real serial port. Still no luck, after researching, I find that the computer is running XP SP3;););) So I will have to wait till monday to get the IT guy to install it on another computer.

My question is why did the company that manufactured this fixture use a panelview with this type protocal. Its only connected to a Micrologix 1200. What is the advantage or why use DH485. Is this for a network?

The simple answer to your question is yes. DH485 allows for network connection. More then two devices on the network.
One advantage would be to connect to both devices at the same time to monitor the PLC as you interact with the HMI.

There is a work around for SP3 and the 1747-PIC/AIC+ driver. See links below

http://forums.rockwellautomation.com/t5/forums/forumtopicpage/board-id/Activations/message-id/114

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showpost.php?p=317407&postcount=9

But as mentioned above the 1747-UIC is your best solution. Maybe GIT is having a Christmas sale. See post #3