Importing/Exporting of Proficy/Cimplicity programs for different versions

Control Freak

Quick question for those in the know...

I'm a machine builder, haven't used GE PLC's in ages, still have Cimplicity Machine Edition - no real need to upgrade until now.

We are retooling an older machine. The end user uses Proficy ver5.7 and has made changes to the original code. I will need to make further changes for this retooling project.

Is there any way for the current user to export the code to a file I can use in my older Cimplicity Version?
OR
If I purchase the latest Proficy Version (ver 8.1 I think) can I export my program down to their version 5.7?

The current version of Proficy Machine Edition is 6.0.

I do not know of anything they can do to export to a version that would be compatible with an older version. Ditto if you purchase 6.0.

I know for a fact that programs done in 6.0 won't open with 5.9.

I have been using the same license for Proficy 5.0, then 5.5, 5.7, 5.9, and now 6.0. This may give you an idea of how to handle it.

Thanks for the reply, Paul.

If you've ever tried using GE's tech support then you know the frustration of waiting on hold, and waiting, and waiting - only to be disconnected... twice!
All for a simple question that any level one tech would easily handle. Thank God for plcs.net!

Anywho,
You are correct - 6.0 is the current version, and from what I've been hearing, their license keys are backward compatible. I have ordered 6.0 and it'll be arriving tomorrow. A collegue has a copy of 5.7 that I'll use for the installation along with the license from the 6.0 version, at least for now.

I would prefer to simply use v6.0, but this would force my customer's entire organization to update all of their versions across the board - simply not a cost effective solution in these trying times.