AB Pico timer problem

hstangel

Howdy all, I'm a total PLC noob and this is my 1st post.

I am using the AB Pico 1760-L12BWB-A. I want a momentary switch to activate a load for n seconds. Problem is, if the switch is pressed and released rapidly (< 0.5 sec~), the load activates and deactivates rapidly. When the switch is depressed slightly longer (> 0.5 sec~), the load remains on for n seconds as expected. The timer contact is closing in both cases, but not remaining closed in the first case. Any ideas why, and how to remedy this? Here is my ladder:

--| I01 |-----( T01 )--

--| T01 |-----( Q01 )--

Best,
Harry

I01 is momentary. What do expect to hold the T01 timer ON once the button is released?

Not enough detail to make a complete idea, but I would use |Q01| in a branch below |I01|

T01
--| I01 |--+-|\|--( Q01 )--
|
--| Q01 |--+

--| Q01 |-----( T01 )--

Make sure timer parameter is On-delayed.

sounds like a flip flop problem do a search on this site there is plenty of examples however due to the limits on Pico's instructions here is one way you can do it

lol Jrwb4gbm also posted a good solution at the same time mine was post
edit I misread your problem and had the output coming on 5 sec later in my example use the Jwr's example

Last edited:
Stranger and stranger...

T01
--| I01 |--+-|\|--( Q01 )--
|
--| Q01 |--+

--| Q01 |-----( T01 )--

Make sure timer parameter is On-delayed.

Thanks for your reply. Your solution should work, but I get the same result. After extensive testing, I've observed:

1. Briefly close I01 (<0.5 sec~) once, Q01 briefly activates, but T01 fails to latch open.

2. Hold I01 closed for >0.5 sec, and the circuit latches until T01 times out as expected.

3. Briefly close I01 again, in 8 seconds or less, and T01 latches Q01 as expected. Subsequent brief closures of I01 work as expected, for about 2 minutes.