Basic Question: --()-- vs. --(s)---

quadPLC

Hi guys,
I am fairly new to PLC programming and am developing a program for a SIEMENS S7-300.

I am wondering: what is the difference between using just a standard coil --()-- and using a "set" coil --(s)-- ?

Thanks guys!

--( )-- If rung=true then out:= 1 else out:= 0
Output state matches the rung state

--(S)-- If rung=true then out:= 1
Once output is set it stays that way until something else somewhere else in the program clears it.

Last edited:
You can usually use Set and Reset as synonyms for Latch and Unlatch. You do have to be careful about whether or not the coils are retentive when you cycle power to the PLC or stop/restart the program. Different brands handle those events differently. Don't assume that the rules you learned for one brand carry over to the new brand.

You can usually use Set and Reset as synonyms for Latch and Unlatch. You do have to be careful about whether or not the coils are retentive when you cycle power to the PLC or stop/restart the program. Different brands handle those events differently. Don't assume that the rules you learned for one brand carry over to the new brand.

Yeah. Actually, I am converting an AB program to Siemens and am rapidly learning that same fact. I now see instances of --(L)-- and --(U)-- in the AB program and see how that compares to set and reset in the Siemens app.

It was difficult for me to discern the difference from the documentation alone. I've got it now and also have bookmarked the PLC tutorials on the site for future reference.

This is certainly quite a difference from programming .net!

Steve brings up a good point.

In an AB PLC a prescan of the program is made at power up. Any memory address that is addressed by a retentive instruction is retained and any memory address that is addressed by a non-retentive instruction is cleared.