S7-300 Variable retention

kris bishop

Hi Folks,

I have experience in a few languages now but was struggling with Siemens so I decided to teach myself.

I'm a poor teacher.(n)

I mananged to get a program to run and do what I wanted but after doing some unknonw thing my variables stopped retaining.

eg. M1.0 wast the 'run_program' latch, I had used (s) to set the bit and (r) to reset it when I wanted to, this was fine but after doing something it stopped latching that variable and it appeared to reset everytime OB1 ran.

I created a new blank project and put in the same symbols and same code and uploaded, it now works, so I think I must have done something to a setting but I cannot find it,

any help would be appreciated, as I'm also suppose to be teaching the technicians soon.

thanks in advance
Kris

usually you should use V memory binairy adressed to get retentive value instead of M.

I don't know if there is a way to keep the M status rententive...

In a redundant plc project some funcction were done by M bit that need to keep there status after black out, instead of redoing the project with V memory, i just moved the M block to a V all the time after first scan and during the first scan only: i recopy the V value to the M block so my M value stay memorised....

Hi Kris.

By "every time OB1 ran", do you mean you stop and start the CPU by powering down ?
If so, you should check the retentivity of the Merkers. It can be found in the HW Config, CPU Properties, Retentive Memory tab.

If that is not the case, you may want to check if M1.0 is written to by other code. Be aware that MB1, MW0, MW1, MD0, MD1 all access M1.0 because of overlapping access.

If that does not explain what goes on, then post your code.

Jeff. I think you missed that he is using an S7-300, and not an S7-200.

No V memory in S7-300

You're right, I was thinking of datatable (Dbx) instead of the V equivalence of microwin when writing the answer but it works the same way