New to Forum and new to Ascii

t67

Greetings,
I am relatively new to programming and work for a small company, so programming is taught as you go along. Have been able to generate programs for lockdowns for simple failsafe- incorporated Cognex cameras and Atlas Copco runners to Micrologix, but I am getting killed on Ascii. I have a 1500 that I am running a symbol scanner to in order to compare part number barcodes. The thought is to "teach" a part number to begin with and then compare subsequent scans to see if the same pn was used. These parts are going through a leak test; when the leak test passes, a witness mark is placed on the casting. We apply a label to the casting and need to make sure that:
1> It is there
2> It is the correct pn (labels are pre printed)

My problem (I think) is that I cannot see what is going on because my port is taken by the scanner and I really do not know of a way to go online and see what is happening. I am including a PDF of what I think should be working, but is not. If anyone could thow something at me to try, that would be great. I have chapter 20 from 1762 that I am reading and I think the commands I tried were used in context, but not sure.

Some other information
-pn is 7 digits
-SN is on the label, but is 9 characters (2 alpha, 7 numeric)
-Teach button is a standard AB pushbutton light
-I have a ton of the 1761 devicenet interfaces- but am clueless to their full potential- could I get the scanner to go through it somehow and then be able to go online when a scan is not being made??

Any help, suggestions, require reading is extremely appriciated.

Later, Jon

Buy a 1764-LRP with two ports (CH0 ASCII to Scanner/Printer) and CH1 DF1 to RSLinx, to do your software development, then put the 1764-LSP back in the machine before you ship.

You can find used LRP processeors on E-Bay, or used PLC distributors.