How many power supplies for Analog Inputs?

weedman15

I am fairly new at using PLC's and have just completed the level 1 course for the ControlLogix and I have a question regarding wiring of the 1756-0F8H Analog Input card w/HART. Many of the documents I've seen depict a single power supply for each channel, is this required, or can all the channel be run from 1 supply?

I've created a program to stroke a couple valves open and close, and have been monitoring the AI feedback from the valve top. Both valves cycle fine for awhile, but then one decides to stop, and can be restarted by removing and reconnecting one of the AI feedback wires. Wasn't sure if this was caused by using the same power source on the AI feedback or a possible ground loop.

The process industry norm is to run multiple analog channels from the same power supply.

I haven't done CLX, but it can't be so deviant from industry norms as to require a separate power supply for each analog channel.

Thanks for the reply danw. I had thought using a single supply would be enough since the RTN on the card are being used as well. Anyway, I think I found what was giving me issues. The valve had stopped working a short while ago, so I reviewed the wiring and the drain/shied wire was grounded to the field device, but left hanging at the card. The field device may not be grounded very well, because after grounding the drain to the chasis of the PLC, the valve began cycling by itself again without cycling the AI feedback.

I reviewed the wiring and the drain/shied wire was grounded to the field device, but left hanging at the card. The field device may not be grounded very well, because after grounding the drain to the chasis of the PLC, the valve began cycling by itself again without cycling the AI feedback.

Careful! Normal grounding practice is to ground on one end only, not on both ends.