Ratio control

ddeshi2

Hi all, I'm new to PLC programming and have no experience in process control. In my company(burner control) we have to control flow rates of air and natural gas in the ratio of 10:1 (AIR:FUEL = 10:1). My question is how can we achieve that? can it be achieved by using the setpoints of air and natural gas in the ratio of 10:1 i.e, if my setpoint for air is 50 then my setpoint for natural gas will be 5..thereby the flowrates will be in the ratio of 10:1. Am I right?

THANK YOU,

Ding

Are you measuring the fuel flow rate and the combustion air flow rate so the you can control each individually?

mass flow or volumetric flow for combustion air?

yes you are right. we have to control flow rates of air and fuel.we are using mass flow meter (Mass Flowmeter- Promass 80E25, DN25 1”). Can you please tell me whether my approach is right or wrong?

Your approach is essentially correct. Assuming the gas flow rate is the critical parameter, then the setpoint to the air control loop would be ten times the gas flow rate. You would modulate the air flow control valve to achieve this air flow.

One of the two flows would be the "primary" loop, and I assume it would be the gas because that determines the heat content sent to the process.

Your burner gas-train doesn't use a proportioner? (A tube tied into your airflow and regulator, that pushes down on the spring in the gas regulator that will release the correct amount of gas to obtain the perfect ratio based upon air pressure) Then use a 4-20MA output off a PID loop to control airflow via modulation.