Retrieving tag data from AB 1769-L32E

jbarney

So I've finally been able to manage to get the ip address set, and I've got connectivity via tcpip, as well as connectivity via rslinx classic, but I need to figure out what data tags are available to me for use in AdvancedHMI. Could someone point me in the right direction of getting started getting tag information (ie, tag addresses, etc)? Sorry if I am asking a stupid question, but I am pretty new to this, and am having to teach myself.

Thanks in advance,

Jamie

So, could anyone be kind enough to point me towards some compactlogix reading material a complete noob could understand, please? I want to learn, I'm just not sure of where to start.

The CompactLogix I'm working with is loaded, and in a running process. I do have a copy of RSLogix5000, but it's evaluation, so I'm apparently unable to do anything online. (Wish I had known that before I set it up for the 5 hour download marathon.) Basically all I really need to do in the immediate future is to learn how to find out my data addresses for my various (variables?)things that I want to display on my HMI that I'm putting together. I can do this with Archie's AdvancedHMI using modbus tcp with another panel I'm including in the HMI that I'm working on, but it has a different plc. So, to get the tag data locations, will I have to get a licensed version of RSLogix?

Nah, if you have a copy of the program loaded in the CompactLogix, you can just open that up offline and get your tag addresses from it!

Lol... If only it were that easy. The people who did the install of the machine the PLC is controlling never left us a copy of the program loaded to the PLC.

Ok, in that case, you can pull a copy of the program from the PLC, but you'll be missing all the symbols and documentation(bleh). You would need a licensed version of Rs5k for that, or at least to be in the 7day grace period.