Logix 5000

TRieglerJr

I've been reading a textbook on ControlLogix (CLX) trying to figure out how this thing works so I can potentially leverage the ideas into one or more projects.

I have been using CLX for about 8 years now, but primarily 'like' an SLC as this is what I'm familiar with.

So I'll start with a basic concept and I'm curious what, if any, benefits any of you have had.

The first basic concept is tasks: there are three types in CLX--continuous, timed, and interrupts.

Up to one continuous task is allowed, and it will only execute when other tasks aren't running. So really, it's a 'run when nothin else is running' task and not continuous.

The local AB rep that's a CLX expert says that you don't really need more tasks, just more programs...which to me sounds exactly like SLC type stuff.
But he also said that IF timed tasks are used, that the continuous task should be deleted.

So, what I'm wondering is, has anyone used a CLX with more than on task? How should tasks be architected into the project?

I have spare CLX processors that I have been experimenting with tasks on, and I still frankly don't know what any rules of thumb might be for tasks.

I have read a bunch of the online guides on HOW to make the tasks, but not WHY to make the tasks.

I use separate programs often with larger pieces of equipment. Good example is when I have multiple stations along a conveyor or a transfer line. Each station is completely independent of its neighbor so I like to set up multiple programs with their own set of tags.

Tasks, not so often. If I need a burst of fast analog activity I'll set up a separate task triggered by an event. Or if I have something that needs I/O updated at a very very slow rate, a water heater PID or level or something like that but thats almost never.

For me, its machine size dependent and how many different things I'm trying to do.

Last edited:
this is a good guide