control fanuc robotic with plc

dle

Hey everyone, name is Dan. I am a beginner doing some school project using PLC and robot. I have the majority of the plc written. The goal is to sort the 3 different boxes that will be coming down the conveyor. I have already set up 3 photoeyes to detect the 3 various boxes. The plc that I have written so far can detect the 3 different boxes. I will add a 4th photo eye to the end of the conveyor to let the plc know when to pick up the box and redirect the command to the robot.

The main question of this thread is, how do I task the robot to pick up the boxes? The robot I am using is the fanuc 200ic. I did some researches and came across PNS and PNStrobe. Can anyone that have worked with robots and plc together please elaborate what that mean and the detailed steps in getting the robot to communicate with the plc and vice versa?

Easiest way for a pick and place robot to communicate is through discrete I/O. Outputs from the PLC goes to Inputs on the Robot, and vice versa.

Then you write a robot program that will move to where it should, and wait for the appropriate signal from the PLC. Like it will move to just before the conveyor, and wait for a single saying that there is a "small box". Then it will move to the small box position, grab it, and move away.

Not a simple answer to your question as there are several different ways to do this. As this is a school project, I will only get you pointed in a direction.

First and foremost, whatever means you are using to interface the PLC to the robot has to be defined and mapped into the robot's I/O map.