New guy with a question

plcpart

Hello all. I am a electrical controls tech that does installs and trouble shooting of control systems involving PLC's. I am not a programmer but do have some understanding of how they work.

My question is, we removed a plc from a inservice system and now have some of the parts from it in our possession including the CPU. My uncle who is the company owner and my boss has considered selling these parts but he is worried that the CPU may have propriortary info stored on it. We have no way of deleting the program. It has been powered down now for a week or so and the battery was unplugged.
It is a Modicon 140 CPU 534 14B. Would there be any other info on it other than the ladder logic? Is there anything to worry about?

Welcome to the forum!
I found this in a manual:
When the controller is in operation, the batteries can be replaced at any time.
Note: When the controller is powered OFF, battery replacement can be done
without RAM loss only when a second functioning battery is installed.

Based on that info, I would say that the program should be gone if all batteries are removed and powered off for a period of time as you indicated. I would suggest powering it back up to see if there are some error codes flashing and that the run indicator LED is off.

Hello all. I am a electrical controls tech that does installs and trouble shooting of control systems involving PLC's. I am not a programmer but do have some understanding of how they work.

My question is, we removed a plc from a inservice system and now have some of the parts from it in our possession including the CPU. My uncle who is the company owner and my boss has considered selling these parts but he is worried that the CPU may have propriortary info stored on it. We have no way of deleting the program. It has been powered down now for a week or so and the battery was unplugged.