Using subroutines

Hi to all,
I have been using Allen Bradley RsLogix 500 software for over 12 years in which, when I change or write programs, I kind of hack at them to get my results. I would like to come up with a way that is quicker. I am trying subroutines which make programs more clearly to me in organization and more easy to fallow. I am just looking for a better way to program ladder logix. Am I on the right path or is there a better way to program more clearly? Thank you all for your help.(y)

every person has his own way of doing things.

the simplest way to do code i've found is to divide it into components.

a 6 station machine would have 8 subroutines - one for each station. each has ist own files.

for example.
ladder 2 - main program - power up logic, auto/manual logic
ladder 3 - manual controls
ladder 4,5,6,7,?? - fault logic

ladder 11 - station 1 logic - files b13,t14,c15,r16,n17
ladder 12 - station 2 logic - files b23,t24,c25,r26,n27
ladder 13 - station 3 logic - files b33,t34,c35,r36,n37

i think you get the point.
we have done 36 stations like this, but the files got a little complicated.

write / type the machine sequence out on paper.
expand it little by little while you try to think of what the machine is doing in slow motion.
keep expanding until you can add sensors and outputs.

keep things in order.

the fault logic files has the logic for each station.

if each station has the same operation, write one file, save the logic to a library file, and insert the library file - editing the addresses.

for this example, i would have designated slots for each station i/o to make it simpler to write (if you get to design it).
regards,
james

Breaking things up into well defined subroutines does help, but that is definitely just one of many things that will affect code robustness, readability.
James gives some good guidance.